Skip to content

Nigerian Music Industry…The Trend

August 11, 2012

Its no news that the Nigerian music industry is at its peak now. From top notch videos, to chart topping hits and of  course, the mega deals and millions our music icons are getting now. For once, i have never felt so happy to be Nigerian, at least there’s something we can boast off.

The recent trend in the Nigerian music industry is even making me consider going into the music industry too! Lol, yeah i said it. Take for instance, Iceprince, the crown prince of choc boys. Iceprince was under the shadow of M.I for a long while and then one track changed it all. Oleku was dropped and boom! Iceprince catapulted to the zenith of the Nigerian music industry. Another hit single “super star” and his position was cemented as one of the greatest Nigerian M.C’s.
Really? That’s all it takes, just two hit singles! We all know the process, after two hit singles and some appearance in music videos and well, getting featured on some tracks, the next big thing is the album lunch. You know the drill, tickets with crazy amount tags, regular, vip, table for N500,000. Im getting into this industry real soon!

Now the rave of the moment, davido! The “Back When” and “Dami Duro” crooner. Well, i hope he gets into the spotlight more for his music rather than his off the camera antics that has been the norm with him. I love this one, cause there’s nothing more to it than well, the two hit tracks. At least, Iceprince gave us some stellar performances. However, I loved “Dami Duro” and “Back When”, i danced a lot to it, the hippy tune and vibe just gets me on. After topping the charts for a while, what’s next has become a routine in the Nigerian music industry. After what i’ll like to term a “one hit wonder” or perhaps two hits in this case, we have the album lunch. Regular this, vip that, table for N500000 and vip table for N1million! Maybe if i could afford to pay for a table i wouldn’t be complaining you might say.

I have no personal grudge against Davido, my friends even say we look alike, hehe! I even love singing his “new hit”, Ekuro that boasts lyrics that sound like they were written by a kindergaten kid just waking up from sleep especially the “you wanna make me do the ring around the roses” part. Lol, reminds me of playing with the swing back in nursery school. Oh well, who am i to criticize right?.

Just so you know, i’m considering having my part of this fruitful position we find ourselves in. I’ll be releasing my hit singles soon, two of them. The first, featuring my Accounting lecturer and well the other, my 11 year old sister on the track titled “ring around the roses”, haha! You know what comes after, my album lunch. Regular N30000, vip N50000, table for 8 N1mill and vip table,just N2mill. I promise you the time of your life. Also at the album lunch, Kim Kardashian’s personal assistant, our very own dbanj would make a cameo apperance, replicating his “monkey style” dance reminiscent in the ‘mercy’ video he was in with Kanye, big sean and the likes. So come one, come all, dont be told, be present at my album lunch! Lol

Form is temporary, class is permanent and only those with real talent stay at the top for so long like the Okoye brothers, Peter and Paul and of course 2face. I’ll quietly go back to jamming Ekuro by davido on my headset. Who took my headset!?
#NoPunIntended

image

From → trendysocial

3 Comments
  1. na true oooo…u look like davido’s brother, nice post btw……….waiting for ur album ooh

    • Haha..tnx brov…very soon..mite feature u sef

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. RadioHitShow S02 Ep17 – EVERYBODY LOVES ICEPRINCE! | AceWorldTeam.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

